Grays Harbor PUD Board of Commissioners President Arie Callaghan has been elected to serve on the Executive Committee of Energy Northwest, a public power consortium formed by the state Legislature and based in the Tri-Cities.  As a member of the 11-member Executive Board, Callaghan will oversee operations of Energy Northwest and work with the agency’s Executive Director.

“I appreciate the support of the Energy Northwest Board of Directors and look forward to working with the Executive Board and Executive Director in moving Energy Northwest forward,” said Callaghan.

A resident of Elma, Callaghan was first elected to the Grays Harbor PUD Board of Commissioners in 2012 and was appointed to the Energy Northwest Board of Directors in 2014.  In 2015 he was elected as the board assistant secretary; and in 2017 as board secretary.  He will officially join the Executive Board on June 17.

Based in the Tri-Cities, Energy Northwest owns and operates four electricity generating facilities: the Columbia Generating Station nuclear energy facility in Richland, the Nine Canyon Wind Project, the Packwood Lake Hydro Electric Project and the White Bluffs Solar Station.  Their Executive Board is made up of five member utility representatives, three gubernatorial appointees and three public sector representatives.