Ballots have hit mailboxes throughout Grays Harbor County for the August Primary election. Incumbent mayors of Aberdeen, Elma, Hoquiam, Montesano, and Westport will defend their seats in the August primary. EMS levies are also proposed to support services in Elma, Westport, and Ocosta.

In Aberdeen, Mayor Bill Simpson faces Erik Larson and Jack Micheau. Councilwoman Margo Shortt defends her Ward 4 seat against Elaine Redner and Courtney Cook.

In Elma, there is a four-way race for Mayor, as incumbent David Osgood is challenged by former Mayor Earl Hari, Jim Sorenson, and Elroy Papke. Elma also has a Levy proposed to Partially Fund Police Services for 2016.

Hoquiam Mayor Jack Durney faces current Councilwoman Jasmine Dickhoff and former Councilman John Wiedl.

Montesano Mayor Ken Estes faces Councilman Tyler Trimble and Vini Samuel.

Westport Mayor Michael Bruce faces current Councilman Rob Bearden and Jim Lang. While Westport Councilwoman Pat Gardner will defend her seat against Jerry Schlaupitz and Brandi Holmes.

District 3 Port of Grays Harbor Commissioner Stan Pinnick is challenged by Jackie Farra and Richard Sinclair.


Three Levies for Southwest Grays Harbor

Westport voters will decide on an Excess Property Tax Levy for Emergency Medical Service and Fire Response. Also on their ballot is an Excess Levy for Emergency Medical Service and Fire Suppression for (volunteer) Fire District 3 which covers Westport.

Fire District 14, which covers Markham, Ocosta, and Bay City, is asking for support of an Excess Levy for Emergency Medical Care and Ambulance Services


Top 2 Primary, but some will see 3 this November

In Washington’s Top 2 Primary voting system the two candidates who receive the most votes in the August Primary Election qualify for the November General Election. Candidates must also receive at least 1% of the votes cast in that race to advance to the General Election.

This November we’ll also see a three-party race, since Jim Hudspeth, Cathie Bisiack, and Bill Campbell all filed for the open seat on the Fire District 8 board during a special filing week in May.