The Washington State Association of College Trustees (ACT) honored 34 community and technical college students as 2016 Transforming Lives award winners including Joseph Gillette of Grays Harbor College, at a ceremony held on Sunday, Jan. 24 in Olympia. The annual award recognizes current students and alumni who overcame barriers to their academic goals. From the winners, five students were selected to be keynote speakers and to receive $500 each.

  • Timothy Woodiwiss, Big Bend Community College
  • Angelica Gonzalez, Green River College
  • Andrea Fast, Shoreline Community College
  • Armando Garcia, Spokane Falls Community College
  • Tyler Gilmore, Whatcom Community College

“These 34 award winners represent the best of what our community and technical colleges offer in an education,” said Tyler Page, ACT president and a Renton Technical College trustee. “We’re proud of these award winners and their achievements, just as we’re proud of all of our students and alumni.”

Other Transforming Lives award winners are:

  • Anthony Hickonbottom, Bates Technical College
  • Nina Nesterenko, Bellevue College
  • Cheryl Alvis, Bellingham Technical College
  • Hudson Louis Dadie, Cascadia College
  • Andrea Pinkerton, Centralia College
  • Takunda Masike, Clark College
  • Serenity Ainsworth, Clover Park Technical College
  • Susan Bradley, Columbia Basin College
  • Andrew Smolen, Edmonds Community College
  • Cerise Robinson, Everett Community College
  • Joseph Gillette, Grays Harbor College
  • Laura Garcia, Highline College
  • Arianda Crosby, Lake Washington Institute of Technology
  • Shawney Garbe, Lower Columbia College
  • Drayton Jackson, Olympic College
  • Nicole Perez, Peninsula College
  • Ira Morton, Pierce College Fort Steilacoom
  • Madison Lucas, Pierce College Puyallup
  • Angel Mitchell, Renton Technical College
  • Kimberly Brown, Seattle Central College
  • Pyriel Infinity, North Seattle College
  • Myron Ramirez, South Seattle College
  • Alana Quigley, Skagit Valley College
  • Lara Semedei, South Puget Sound Community College
  • Sarah Hader, Spokane Community College
  • Justin Francisco, Tacoma Community College
  • Lexi Sturm, Walla Walla Community College
  • Adam Amundson, Wenatchee Valley College
  • Sarah Fielding, Yakima Valley Community College

Each award winner was nominated by the board of trustees at their college.