Two Hoquiam Troopers Among Thirty Nine Washington State Patrol Troopers Sworn In

At a ceremony held in the Capitol Rotunda Thursday afternoon, 39 Washington State Patrol (WSP) troopers were sworn in by Justice Sheryl Gordon McCloud of the Washington State Supreme Court.  They were presented their commission cards by Governor Jay Inslee and Chief John R. Batiste, who welcomed them into an organization known and trusted by the citizens of Washington State.

After completing over 1,000 hours of training, these men and women will join Washington’s premier law enforcement organization.  The Washington State Patrol Academy produces approximately three cadet classes each biennium, which accounts for about 100 to 120 new troopers.  Historically, only about four to six percent of the total number of applicants makes the grade to become WSP troopers.

“The 39 cadets graduating today endured a rigorous application process, extensive background investigation, and received the best training, unmatched anywhere else in the nation,” said Chief John Batiste.  “Today, they will join the ranks of Washington’s finest, as troopers of the Washington State Patrol.”

- Advertisement -

A tradition that began 96 years ago on June 21, 1921, when six brave men kick-started their Indian motorcycles, strapped on an arm band, and started a proud tradition known today as the Washington State Patrol.  The tradition continues to this day with the graduation of the 107th Trooper Basic Training Class at the Capitol Rotunda, signaled by the stream of shiny white patrol vehicles parked in the lanes leading up to the Capitol steps.

During the ceremony, the Core Values Award was presented to Trooper Logan A. Swift.  This award is presented to the trooper cadet who most typifies the Training Division Core Values which include: strong leadership, effective partnerships, professional excellence, acting with integrity and accountability, respecting and protecting individual rights, and earning the trust and confidence of the public.  The recipient of this award was determined by an anonymous vote of his classmates, and is sponsored by the Washington State Patrol Memorial Foundation.  This award honors the most recent State Patrol employee to give his life in service to the citizens of the state of Washington.  Trooper Brent L. Hanger died in the line of duty on August 6, 2015.  The award was presented today in Trooper Hanger’s honor by his wife, Lisa Hanger. In addition to this award, Chief Batiste presented six trooper cadets with awards at a ceremony held on November 1, 2017, during an open house at the WSP Academy.

These awards included:

Top Driving Award
Presented to Trooper Logan A. Swift; this award recognizes the highest level of proficiency with respect to driving skills and techniques, decision-making and mind-set, and steady and constant improvement through each phase of drivers training.

Top Firearms Award
Presented to Trooper Daniel L. Johnson; this award recognizes the highest level of proficiency with all weapon systems, marksmanship scores and skills, and demonstration of sound judgment during practical encounter scenarios.

Top Physical Fitness/Top Control Tactics Award
Presented to Trooper Karl A. Fenster; this award recognizes the highest level of drive and tenacity in physical fitness testing and training.  The recipient of this award consistently performed at the top of the Trooper Basic Training Class during physical training.  In addition, this award recognizes the highest level of proficiency in control tactics techniques, to include self-defense, handcuffing, searching and use of force thought process.

Top Academic Award
Presented to Trooper Logan A. Swift; this award recognizes the outstanding efforts of the cadet who attains the highest grade point average compiled from over 30 tests and quizzes during training.  The class average GPA for the 108th Trooper Basic Training Class was 88%; Trooper Swift’s GPA was an impressive 95%.

Top Collision Investigation Award
Presented to Trooper Logan A. Swift; this award recognizes the highest level of proficiency regarding collision investigation, including mathematical computation, scene investigation, information and evidence gathering, report writing, and teamwork.

Top Overall Cadet Award
Presented to Trooper Logan A. Swift; this award recognizes the trooper cadet who demonstrated great courage to overcome obstacles, unwavering dedication to stay focused on reaching their goals, and their ability to give 100% in every aspect of their training.  Trooper Swift demonstrated the necessary skills, abilities, and judgment to be an excellent trooper, and made extra efforts to continuously make improvements.


Name Number Final Assignment Home Town
1 Arata, Jack H. 1247 District 2 Bellevue Medina, WA
2 Ayala, Amanda C. 510 District 7 Monroe Olympia, WA
3 Beeck, David C. 858 District 1 Tacoma Tacoma, WA
4 Clark, Eric A. 915 District 2 Bellevue Tacoma, WA
5 Clark, Howard S. 1233 District 2 Bellevue Renton, WA
6 Coltrane, Trevor M. 537 District 5 Chehalis Washougal, WA
7 Dahl, Bjorn C. 1103 District 2 Bellevue Tacoma, WA
8 Davis, Austin D. 1229 District 8 Hoquiam Rochester, WA
9 Destito, Brendon M.R. 435 District 6 Okanogan Everett, WA
10 Effenberger, Matthew R. 1232 District 7 Monroe Snohomish, WA
11 Fenster, Karl A. 486 District 6 Ellensburg Normandy Park, WA
12 Ford, Jared A. 647 District 8 Shelton Elma, WA
13 Fox, Kelvin A. 502 District 6 Okanogan Covington, WA
14 Franich, Andrea L. 1234 District 1 Tacoma Puyallup
15 Genack, Kenneth M. 1239 District 3 Grandview Richland, WA
16 Haney, Erik T. 698 District 2 Bellevue Spanaway, WA
17 Hays, Martin F. 688 District 8 Hoquiam Kent, WA
18 Highfield, Kevin B. 1107 District 6 Okanogan Silverdale, WA
19 Jackson, Cole A. 371 District 1 Olympia Yelm, WA
20 Johnson, Daniel L. 345 District 1 Olympia Tumwater, WA
21 Kaelin, Tyler J. 1111 District 6 Basin Lacey, WA
22 Karnofski, Alexis M. 618 District 2 Bellevue Seattle, WA
23 Lilley, Jacob J. 400 District 2 Bellevue Puyallup, WA
24 Malagon-Salinas, Gustavo 1125 District 3 Grandview Vancouver, WA
25 Mendoza, Christopher P. 763 District 7 Bellingham Sedro Wooley, WA
26 Miller, Kaleb N. 350 District 8 Forks Olympia, WA
27 Mosqueda, Oscar A. 408 District 2 Bellevue Kirkland, WA
28 Moyer, Victoria J. 1003 District 7 Monroe Spokane, WA
29 Quintero, Edgar A. 829 District 8 Naselle Ridgefield, WA
30 Rasmussen, Michael A. 625 District 1 Tacoma Tacoma, WA
31 Rauch, Dawn A. 733 District 7 Monroe Bellingham, WA
32 Sacks, Briana M. 845 District 1 Tacoma Tacoma, WA
33 Sessions, Michael R. 990 District 5 Chehalis Olympia, WA
34 Smith, David A. 427 District 2 Bellevue SeaTac, WA
35 Swanson, Kelly L. 836 District 8 Naselle Longview, WA
36 Swift, Logan A. 581 District 6 Ellensburg Ellensburg, WA
37 Tippins, Margaret L. 701 District 6 Ellensburg Lynden, WA
38 Valentine, Michael C. 701 District 6 Basin Othello, WA
39 Williams, Chadwick S. 975 District 3 Grandview Shelton, WA