Tall Ship Hawaiian Chieftain Returns to Aberdeen this June

History will come alive in Aberdeen this June as the tall ship Hawaiian Chieftain makes her homecoming trip to Seaport Landing. The tall ship, part of the Aberdeen-based nonprofit Grays Harbor Historical Seaport, sails the waters of the Pacific each year along with its companion vessel Lady Washington, offering educational programs, free deck tours, and sailing trips.

From June 21st – 24th, Hawaiian Chieftain will be docked at Seaport Landing (500 N Custer St.). Lady Washington will tentatively join Hawaiian Chieftain from July 1 – July 10. On weekdays schools can reserve a trip aboard the tall ship for the Historical Seaport’s one-of-a-kind maritime heritage field trip Voyage of Explorers. On weekends the tall ship is open to the general public for ticketed Adventure Sails. Battle Sails are also available on weekend days when both vessels are in port together.
For the seasickness-prone but curious, stationary dockside Vessel Tours are available daily for a $5 suggested donation. Hawaiian Chieftain can also be Chartered for private events including weddings and workplace team builders.
The steel-hulled Hawaiian Chieftain was launched in 1988 in Lahaina, Hawaii. Together with Lady Washington, the tall ships are among the most active educational boats in America, visiting approximately 40 ports each year. The tall ships offer a glimpse into our historic past, introducing people of all ages to the sights and sounds of 18th and 19th-century maritime life.
ABERDEEN SCHEDULE
June 25 (Monday)
Hawaiian Chieftain Arrival
June 26 (Tuesday)
Vessel Tours: 4 p.m. to 5 p.m. ($5 donation) (Hawaiian Chieftain)
June 27 (Wednesday)
Closed
June 28 (Thursday)
Closed
June 29 (Friday)
Vessel Tours: 4 p.m. to 5 p.m. ($5 donation)
Evening Sail: 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. ($42-$49) (Hawaiian Chieftain)
June 30 (Saturday)
Vessel Tours: 12 p.m. to 2 p.m. ($5 donation)
Adventure Sail: 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. ($42-$49) (Hawaiian Chieftain)
Evening Sail: 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. ($42-$49) (Hawaiian Chieftain)
July 1 (Sunday)
Vessel Tours: 12 p.m. to 3 p.m. ($5 donation)
Adventure Sail: 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. (Lady Washington)
Battle Sail: 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. ($42-$79)
July 2 (Monday)
Closed
July 3 (Tuesday)
Closed
July 4 (Wednesday)
Vessel Tours: 2:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.($5 donation)
Fireworks Sail: 7:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m. ($42-$79) (Lady Washington )
July 5 (Thursday)
Closed
July 6 (Friday)
Vessel Tours: 4 p.m. to 5 p.m. ($5 donation)
Evening Sail: 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. ($42-$49)
July 7 (Saturday)
Vessel Tours: 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. ($5 donation)
July 8 (Sunday)
Hawaiian Chieftain Departs to Newport, OR Est. Trip Time: 3 days $390
Vessel Tours: 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. ($5 donation) (Lady Washington)
Adventure Sail: 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. ($42-$49) (Lady Washington)
July 9 (Monday)
Closed
July 10 (Tuesday)
Lady Washington departs to Newport, OR Est. Trip Time: 3 days $390

Comments