Newstalk KBKW

Week-long November razor clam dig approved

Bookmark and Share

The schedule for the upcoming dig and evening low tides is:

  • Nov. 1, Friday, 5:52 pm; 0.1 feet; Twin Harbors and Mocrocks
  • Nov. 2, Saturday, 6:36 pm; -0.6 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis, and Mocrocks
  • Nov. 3, Sunday, 6:16 pm; -1.1 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, and Mocrocks
  • Nov. 4, Monday, 6:59 pm; -1.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, and Mocrocks
  • Nov. 5, Tuesday, 7:45 pm; -1.3 feet; Long Beach and Twin Harbors
  • Nov. 6, Wednesday, 8:33 pm; -1.2 feet; Twin Harbors
  • Nov. 7, Thursday, 9:24 pm; -1.2 feet; Twin Harbors
  • Nov. 8, Friday, 10:19 pm; -0.3 feet; Twin Harbors

Ayres reminded diggers that best results typically occur one to two hours before low tide and that digging is not allowed at any beach before noon.

Razor Clam Digging in Western Washington“Getting to the beach early should allow diggers to harvest clams before darkness sets in, at least based on low-tide times for the first four or five days of the dig,” said Ayres. “But being prepared for darkness is a good idea. Always bring a lantern, which is much more effective for spotting clams than the direct beam of a flashlight.”

Under state law, diggers can take 15 razor clams per day and are required to keep the first 15 they dig. Each digger’s clams must be kept in a separate container.

All diggers age 15 or older must have an applicable 2013-14 fishing license to harvest razor clams on any beach. Licenses, ranging from a three-day razor clam license to an annual combination fishing license, are available on WDFW’s website at https://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov and from license vendors around the state.

WDFW will announce the final word on a tentative dig to begin Nov. 15 after marine toxin tests have been completed. That dig is tentatively scheduled on the following dates, beaches and low tides:

  • Nov. 15, Friday, 5:01 pm; -0.3 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis, and Mocrocks
  • Nov. 16, Saturday, 5:42 pm; -0.6 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Copalis, and Mocrocks
  • Nov. 17, Sunday, 6:20 pm; -0.7 feet; Long Beach, Twin Harbors, and Mocrocks
  • Nov. 18, Monday, 6:57 pm; -0.6 feet; Twin Harbors
  • Nov. 19, Tuesday, 7:33 pm; -0.4 feet; Twin Harbors
  • Nov. 20, Wednesday, 8:09 pm; -0.2 feet; Twin Harbors

Comprehensive information about razor clams – from updates on tentative digs to how-to advice on digging and cooking – is available at http://wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/shellfish/razorclams/ .

Comments are closed.