State Offices Take Thier Second Furlow Day This Friday

The Washington Office of Financial Management Website explains, stating, “The current recession has reduced state revenues significantly, forcing the Legislature to make cuts in agency budgets. State agency closures will require affected state workers to take an unpaid day off through temporary layoffs. Office closures and compensation reduction plans are intended to save more than $70 million in state operating costs ($38M state general fund, $35M other funds).”

Online services for consumers and licensees — such as verifying a license, filing a complaint, accessing financial education or foreclosure assistance information, accessing information on how to apply for a license and necessary forms, etc. — will still be available. However, staff will not be available to answer calls, respond to e-mail or process applications or complaints.

Additional information about Washington’s temporary layoff days is available at http://www.ofm.wa.gov/layoff/default.asp  

 

The Health Care Authority purchases health care for more than 400,000 Washington residents through the various programs it administers, including the Public Employees Benefits Board program and Basic Health. The agency employs about 275 people with offices in Lacey and Seattle. All agency employees will be affected by the temporary layoff.

The Health Care Authority plans to participate in all ten temporary layoff dates during the coming 12 months:

· Monday, July 12, 2010
· Friday, August 6, 2010
· Tuesday, September 7, 2010
· Monday, October 11, 2010
· Monday, December 27, 2010
· Friday, January 28, 2011
· Tuesday, February 22, 2011
· Friday, March 11, 2011
· Friday, April 22, 2011
· Friday, June 10, 2011