Grays Harbor County Renews Tsunami Ready and Storm Ready Status

As we reported last month, Westport is now Tsunami Ready

MONTESANO, Wash. – On June 30, 2001, Grays Harbor County along with the City of Ocean Shores, WA became the first TSUNAMI READY COMMUNITIES in the United States. This week, Grays Harbor County received word that they have once again voluntarily met the National Weather Service requirements for being named a TSUNAMI READY COMMUNITY and STORM READY COMMUNITY thru June 2016.

Grays Harbor County is recognized as not only the first community (along with Ocean Shores) in the Country to receive the Tsunami Ready Community designation, but for our pioneering safety initiatives in communications, warning reception and dissemination, public outreach and awareness and administrative planning. The program recognizes communities who have taken steps to prepare the emergency response infrastructure and population for a Tsunami and/or Storm emergency. Benefits of being Tsunami Ready and Storm Ready are that Grays Harbor County is better prepared to save lives and property in a Tsunami and Storm Emergency. It assists the County in keeping their response plans current. The program increases the County’s contact with experts and warning dissemination personnel and enhances core emergency response infrastructure which will also support other hazard response.

From the NOAA website, as of June 24, 2013 , there were 2091 StormReady® Sites in 49 states, Puerto Rico & Guam: 998 Counties, 797 Communities, 134 Universities, 13 Indian Nations, 66 Commercial Sites, 50 Military, 28 Government Sites, and 146 TsunamiReady Sites in 11 states, Puerto Rico and Guam. All coastal counties, cities and tribal nations of Washington State including Grays Harbor County, the cities of Hoquiam, Aberdeen, Ocean Shores and Westport as well as the Quinault Indian Nation are designated as TsunamiReady by NOAA.