Hoquiam Earns Third Governor’s Smart Communities Award

Gov. Chris Gregoire today announced the winners of her 2011 Smart Communities Awards for creating livable communities in Washington State.

“Washington state needs to create and maintain vibrant communities if we want to continue to attract a strong workforce and growing businesses,” Gregoire said. “I’m proud of the remarkable work that’s going on across our state to balance economic growth with sustainable development.”

The 12 communities recognized this year are considered models in planning for smart growth. They have shown outstanding work in:

·       Innovative and wise land use, resource management, enhanced rural preservation, water utility planning, and transportation planning;

·       Effective city-county partnerships and achieving significant public participation; and

·       Incorporation of public safety and community gathering places, density supporting transportation, and reducing vehicle miles traveled, and downtown revitalization as key components of their growth plans.

This year’s Smart Vision Award in Comprehensive Planning winners are Kitsap County, the City of Olympia and the City of Poulsbo. Smart Choices Awards in Implementation of a Comprehensive Plan went to the City of Chelan, City of Bothell and City of Vader/Lewis County. Smart Partnerships Awards in Development Projects were given to the City of Hoquiam, City of Walla Walla and Pierce County. The cities of Waitsburg and Mukilteo both received Judges’ Merit Awards.

“The forward-thinking leadership demonstrated by these communities is part of what makes Washington a great place to live and do business,” said Department of Commerce Director Rogers Weed.  “Sustainable and smart growth protects valuable resources and improves our quality of life.”

Awards will be presented to city winners on June 23 at the Association of Washington Cities conference in Spokane. County winners will receive awards at the Washington State Association of Counties annual meeting on November 16 in Bellevue.

The Governor has rewarded outstanding local planning efforts through the Smart Communities Awards since 2006. The Smart Communities Awards are administered by the Growth Management Program at the Washington State Department of Commerce. For more information on the Governor’s Smart Communities Awards or the Growth Management Act, visit www.commerce.wa.gov/growth.

About Commerce

Commerce is the lead state agency charged with enhancing and promoting sustainable community and economic vitality in Washington. For more information, visit www.commerce.wa.gov. For information on locating or expanding a business in Washington, visit www.choosewashington.com.

Subscribe to Commerce press releases by email. You may unsubscribe at any time.


2011 Governor’s Smart Communities Award Winners

Smart Vision Award – Comprehensive Planning
• Kitsap County, “Kitsap County Year of the Rural”
   Contact: Larry Keeton, 360.337.5683
• City of Olympia, “Imagine Olympia Public Participation Program”
   Contact:  Keith Stahley, 360.753.8227
• City of Poulsbo, “Poulsbo 2009 Comprehensive Plan”
   Contact: Barry Berezowsky, 360.394.9730

Smart Choices Award – Implementation of a Comprehensive Plan
• City of Chelan, “Chelan Downtown Land Use and Development Code”
   Contact:  Craig Gildroy, 509.682.8017
• City of Bothell, “Downtown Subarea Plan Implementation”
   Contact: Terrie Battuello, 425.489.3387
• City of Vader and Lewis County, “Lewis County/City of Vader Water Project”
   Contact: Tim Elsea, 360.740.1123

Smart Partnerships Award – Development Project to Implement a Plan
• City of Hoquiam, “Downtown Revitalization Project”
   Contact: Alissa Thurman, 360.637.6011
• City of Walla Walla, “Washington Park Gathering Place”
   Contact: Milenko Matanovic, 425.557.6412
• Pierce County, “Bridge To The Beach Project”
   Contact: Joseph Scorcio, 253.798.4661

Judges’ Merit Award
• City of Waitsburg, “City of Waitsburg Downtown Revitalization Project”
   Contact: Randy Hinchliffe, 509.337.6371
• City of Mukilteo, “Mukilteo Green City Buildings – Capital Facilities Policies Implementation”
   Contact: Heather McCartney, 425.263.8040