Local E911 Operator Wins International Recognition


APCO International President, Bill Carrow, said, “APCO applauds Richard Garman on being named Telecommunicator of the Year.  His efforts exemplify the high standards of excellence of public safety practitioners and we are proud to give this honor to an individual so deserving.”

Winners receive a fully paid trip including registration, travel expenses, and hotel accommodations to obtain their award at APCO’s 2011 Annual Conference. Recipients will also be featured in APCO’s magazine, Public Safety Communications.

APCO presents seven categories of annual awards to public safety communications personnel who demonstrate the highest levels of personal and professional conduct and performance in the line of duty. Members or nonmembers of APCO submit public safety nominees who are reviewed by the Awards Committee and finalized by APCO’s Executive Committee.

More information on the Awards and APCO’s Annual Conference is available on APCO’s website, http://apcointl.org.


About APCO International

APCO International is the world’s largest organization of public safety communications professionals. It serves the needs of public safety communications practitioners worldwide—and the welfare of the general public as a whole—by providing complete expertise, professional development, technical assistance, advocacy and outreach.  www.apcointl.org.