NorthWest Wingless Sprint Tour at Grays Harbor Raceway

After two early season rainouts the NorthWest Wingless Tour (NWWT) will see its first point’s race of the season at Grays Harbor Raceway this Saturday Night. Local drivers that will be hand to do battle, include veteran Sprint Car driver Dan Dunlap from Renton and 2008 Grays Harbor Raceway Ford Focus Midget Champion Jeff Bell from Marysville, Rookie Sprint car driver Jonathan Jorgenson from Auburn will also be on hand, Jorgensen finished second in last year’s Ford Focus Midget point standings. Other Washington drivers scheduled to compete include, Arlington’s Brandon Skeeter and Doug Kamerzell, Yakima’s Doug Peters, Dylan Olsen from Kelso, and Mike Romig from Vancouver. Oregon driver’s include Cory Estaban from Gaston, Estaban was the 2009 Dwarf Car Champion, Nick Tomlinson from Newburg, Mark Herz from Sandy, Theo McCarty from Hillsboro, Mark Nichols from Eagle Creek, Kyle Mehner from Clakamas, Salem driver’s Sterling Kane and Roy Crouch.

The Pacific Hardtop Racing Association Dwarf Cars will make their first of two stops at Grays Harbor Raceway this Saturday Night. These 5/8’s scale replica cars from the 30’s with Yamaha motorcycle engines always put on a great show at Grays Harbor, you can expect upwards of 20 of these fast little machines to be in action on Saturday. Hillsboro Oregon driver David Cantu leads the point standings with 870 points followed by Ronnie Gilmore from Aloha, Oregon with 850, Clay Goben is in third position with 841. A father and son duo of Henry Corbin II and Henry Corbin III from Malalla round out the top five positions with 835 and 790 points respectively.
Aberdeen’s Zack Simpson is once again the points leader in the Cut Rate Hobby Stock division after scoring his fourth feature win of the year, coupled that with Cosmopolis driver Tom Sweatman’s failing to finish last week’s feature, Simpson leads the standings by 19 points 444 to 425 over Sweatman. Gig Harbor’s Derek Junell and Olympia’s Eddie Blood are tied for third with 413 points closely followed by Jack Parshall with 390 points. Rookie Tom Hecker from Spanaway is sixth with 368 points.
In the Hornet division Olympia’s Brian Izzi will be looking to make it two wins in a row after beating opening night winner and fellow Olympian Rory Clevenger last weekend. Last Saturday featured the largest Hornet field ever as there 18 cars that competed. Onalaska’s Jake Mills finished third followed by Zach Dalrymple from Olympia and Rodney West from Parkland.
For more information please go to or call the Raceway office at 360 482- 4374

Grays Harbor Raceway is proud to be partnered with so many great partners that include Crown Distributing, Coors and Miller, Harbor Pacific Bottling, Pepsi and Mountain Dew, Hoosier Racing Tires, Triple X Race Co, Shipwreck Beads, Little Creek Casino and Resort, Cut Rate Auto Parts, Industrial Hydraulics, Our Community Credit Union, MASCO Petroleum, Turbo Blue, Bulldog Trailers, Lucky Eagle Casino Microtel Inn & Suites, Toads Deli, Great NorthWest Federal Credit Union, Sideline Auto Wrecking, Speedmart and Little Nickel.