Opening Night at Grays Harbor Raceway…. Take Three

In an effort to bring more excitement back to GHR in 2010, double file restarts will be used in the Modified, Midget, Hobby Stock and Hornet divisions this year. The leader will start on the front row alone, with all other drivers lined up double file. There will be no more cone on the front straight, on all restarts passing will begin when you pass the chalk line in turn four.

Drivers expected to challenge last year’s champions in their respective divisions include, in the Sprint Car ranks, Tacoma’s Shawn Rice, Rice should be one of the top challengers for the championship as he will debut his new paint scheme this Saturday night. As well as seven time Sprint Car Champion Jay Cole from Shelton. Cole will also be sporting a new paint scheme in his quest for his eighth Sprint Car championship, others will include Enumclaw’s Henry Van Dam, Renton’s Steve Vague, Renton’s Dan Dunlap and young guns Quilcene’s JJ Hickle, Maple Valley’s JJ Dishneau, Logan Forler from Orting and possibly 2008 Sprint car Rookie of the year TJ Hartman from Puyallup.

Modified drivers expected to challenge include former champions Scott Miller from Shelton, Craig Moore from Seabeck and back after a three year layoff Chehalis driver Jon Swiglo, others include Seabeck’s James Wolfard, Aberdeen’s Greg Dineen, Randy Ward, 2009 Rookie of the year Joe German from Aberdeen, Matt Scherer from Aberdeen, Morgan Criswell from Vancouver along with Scott Westley from Centralia, David Burns from Bremerton, Del Schnitzer from Shelton, Steve Signal from Olympia and Elma’s Floyd Livingston. Rookie drivers include Shelton’s Alan Muenchow, Renton’s Bill Lamm, and Castle Rock’s Carl Larson.

In the Hobby Stock division, 2009 Rookie of the Year Derek Junell from Gig Harbor will be back to challenge along with, Olympia’s Eddie Blood and Brian Izzi, Bremerton’s Keith Knowlton, Aberdeen’s Jack Parshall, Zack Fuller from University Place, Koit Honea from Montesano, Patrick Glennon from Wesport, Patrick Murray from Port Orchard and two father and son combinations including many time pavement Late Model Champion Tom Sweatman from Cosmopolis and his son Cory Sweatman along with the Greg and Ross Watkins from South Prairie.