Governor Announces 2010 Commute Smart Awards

“Our state’s commute trip reduction program is a great example of what can happen when public and private organizations work together to promote transportation choices other than just driving alone,” said Gregoire.  “The award winners this year have achieved meaningful and measurable results in reducing drive-alone commutes on our busiest roads.”

The Governor’s Commute Smart Awards recognize communities, businesses, agencies and employee transportation coordinators. The awards recognize the benefits – like better traffic flow and cleaner air – that are shared by all. For every $1 the state invests in these programs, businesses invest an additional $18, maximizing commute trip reduction programs for everyone in the state. 

“When more people reduce drive alone trips, everyone benefits with cleaner air, less fuel consumption and decreased wear and tear on our state’s roadways,” said Secretary of Transportation Paula Hammond. “The efforts by award winners and nominees make a difference. It’s important to take time to acknowledge and appreciate their innovation and dedication.”

By delivering innovative, comprehensive programs that address their employees’ transportation needs, these award winners serve as examples for the more than 1,000 worksites in the state who implement commute trip reduction programs.

This year’s awards recognize 46 recipients in eleven categories. For a complete list of nominees and winners please see below.

Established in 1998, the Governor’s Commute Smart Awards were developed to recognize extraordinary efforts by commute trip reduction worksites in Washington state.  Today, the Commute Trip Reduction Program continues to expand and evolve, engaging more commuters, employers, and communities. This recognition event honors employers who are the foundation of the program, innovative communities who are driving the future of the program, and the ongoing contributions of employee transportation coordinators who help employees make better transportation choices every day that help them save money and benefit their communities and Washington state. 


Governor Gregoire signed the Commute Trip Reduction Efficiency Act in 2006 to focus the program on congested highway corridors and increase planning coordination among local, regional and state levels, The Act also provides flexibility to local jurisdictions, including the ability to develop customized trip reduction programs in key employments and residential centers.

# # #


Commute Smart Employee Transportation Coordinator Champion Award, Voluntary Site

Corkey Christensen, LUMEDX, Bellevue

Amber Henderson, Yakima Valley Farm Workers Clinic, Toppenish

Leslie Hopkins, Kitsap County Health District, Bremerton


Commute Smart Voluntary Recognition

Employee Transportation Coordinators

Shelly Holland, General Plastics, Tacoma
Amy Jones, Boundary Bay Brewery, Bellingham
KC McNeil, Romac Industries, Bothell
Selina Shehan, Rings & Things, Spokane

Kerry Tarullo, City of Olympia



Kitsap County Health District
Metro Parks Tacoma
People for People
Sightline Institute
Western Institutional Review Board


Commute Smart Employee Transportation Coordinator Champion, Affected Sites

Sabrina Combs, City of Bothell

Michelle Cvitkovic, Recreational Equipment Inc., Kent

Charlotte Sampson, Kitsap Transit, Bremerton


Commute Smart Employee Transportation Coordinator Champion, Affected Sites

Julie Ward, Whatcom Educational Credit Union, Bellingham

Starr Winborne, Washington State Department of Social and Health Services
Division of Child Support (DCS), Vancouver

Becky Zahler, Washington State Department of Ecology, Yakima


Commute Smart Employee Transportation Coordinator Leadership

Ed McIntire, Eastern Washington University, Cheney

Al Papas, Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner, Tumwater

Patti Sutton and Jennifer Reyes, Propel Insurance, Tacoma


Commute Smart Employer Champion, Voluntary Site

The Fernwell Building, Spokane

Tetra Tech EC, Inc., Bothell

Village Books, Bellingham


Commute Smart Employer Champion, Affected Site

The Everett Clinic, Everett

PeaceHealth, Bellingham

City of Spokane—City Hall, Spokane

Washington State Department of Commerce, Olympia

Yakima Regional Medical and Cardiac Center, Yakima


Commute Smart Employer Leadership

City of Puyallup

Clark Public Utilities, Vancouver

Puget Sound Naval Shipyard, Bremerton


Commute Smart State Agency Leadership

Washington State Department of Commerce


Commute Smart Community Award

City of Bellevue – Downtown’s “Choose Your Way Bellevue”

City of Olympia – Downtown Commuter program

Snohomish County – Curb the Congestion

Spokane County – Travel Green

City of Tacoma – Downtown: On the Go!

City of Vancouver – Destination Downtown

Whatcom Council of Governments – Smart Trips


Commute Smart Commute Trip Reduction Board Champion

Fred Jarrett

Spokane County Commission and Mayor of Spokane


Commute Smart Legacy Award

Microsoft Corporation

City of Redmond